The areas of learning and development. 

There are seven areas of learning and development that Tiny Shines use to shape our educational programmes. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.


At Tiny Shines we must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design


In planning and guiding children’s activities, practitioners at Tiny Shines must reflect on the different ways that children learn and reflect these in their practice. Three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

  • playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’;
  • active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements; and
  • creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.



For further details on the early years foundation stage curriculum and how you can support your child as a parent, please see links below:


EYFS Parents Guide

Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)